The November 2011 Informal Poll

Each month for the past two years, I’ve started or participated in a monthly poll on the USA Amazon Kindle discussion boards asking people a simple question: what are you reading on your Kindle? I’ve received some great tips with past monthly polls, finding out what others are reading on their Kindle, and found some “new” authors I generally wouldn’t have found using my hunt-and-peck method. While I have certainly enjoyed the “mainstream” author suggestions over the past year, I’ve also enjoyed a lot of independent authors from each month’s poll I never would have heard of previously.

If you would like to check out the poll and find some new things or, better yet, tell others what you are reading, just click here or type in http://amzn.to/nov11poll into your web browser and start!

Here’s how this works – list a book you are currently reading or just recently read on your Kindle (insert the product link using the little button above the text box in the discussion forum so others can find it), whether you would recommend it, did you get it free, and anything else you would care to share.

I started this month’s poll by saying I had just finished Sixty-7 (Family Secrets) by Aynoit Ashor; it was free when I picked it up, and now it is 99 cents and is well worth 99 cents.  You can click here or type in http://amzn.to/t8aXLK into your computer’s web browser to see it.

And here’s my standard continuation of each month’s request for prior participants in the poll: if you like or dislike a title you have read, in addition to telling us about it in this informal poll, how about writing a book review on the Amazon website? The review will certainly last and be visible a lot longer than this poll will. If you’re like me, you look at the customer reviews in order to see if you want to investigate a book further. Since we are all a little community here, and while I realize each review is each person’s opinion and we may not like the same thing, I know your friends and online discussion neighbors would appreciate your honest assessment of the likes and dislikes without providing a spoiler – I know I would!  Your reviews don’t need to be a long dissertation of the book, I like to keep them short, sweet, and (hopefully) to the point.

Yes, I wrote a review for the book Sixty-7 above: you can read and vote on the helpfulness of that review if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/tRnasa into your computer’s web browser.  I’ve read about ten books since completing that one, and I am a little behind on writing my reviews, but you can see all of the reviews I have written if you click here or type in http://amzn.to/mpgreviews

Anyway, that’s all for now. Have a great weekend!

Michael

Want to have this blog sent wirelessly to your Kindle vs. reading it on your computer? Try out the free two-week subscription!  Click here for the Amazon page for Free Kindle Books Plus a Few Other Tips.

Looking for more or a reliable source of free books for your Kindle?  Click here for my “Free Kindle Books and How to Find Them book (updated September 2011).

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous Stuff

Leave a Reply

